A farmer of my own…Eucharisteo

From the moment I read 1,00 gifts and encountered ‘The Holy Experience” blog until now, Ann Voskamp’s words have been used by God to heal me and bless me.
And come on…who can’t say that?  Who hasn’t read her blog yet?
There is a ‘holiness’ in the ‘nakedness’ of her words that take your heart and reads it like an open email…bringing Christ through to the tiniest crevices and cracks and filling it with Him.

I’ve become so much more intentional in practicing “Eucharisteo” in my every day since reading her book.  And so this holiday season, I was determined NOT to go straight from Halloween to Christmas as is the way of the world today.  Hence, I began my own 30 days of thanksgiving this month, posting my one new gift of thanks in my life for each day.

Today, I read Ann’s blog again as I started my day.
And once again, the tears flowed.
As I read of her farmer and his plowing, I had to stop and come and blog and give thanks today for a farmer of my own.

He doesn’t plow the dirt but he plows his life.  lousnow
He doesn’t preach in a pulpit.  He just lives right.
He pays the bills on time. He keeps his word.
He plows the hard ground of life day in and day out.

As a woman in ministry, too many for too long judge and weigh your ministry and your calling according to whether or not your husband is ‘in the ministry’; whether he’s a preacher or a pastor or evangelist in a church somewhere.

But, no…he simply drives a bus.

He simply provides for me, our family and our home.
He leaves while it is still dark and it is dark again by the time he gets home.
He pays the bills on time. He’s a man of his word.
He keeps it and expects the word given to be kept as well.
He’s ‘old school’ in that way.

He starts every morning on his knees and ends the day…on his knees.

He makes sure his mom and dad are taken care of.
He provides for his daughters and grandchildren.
He has ensured we have and are taken care of…even if and after he’s gone.
His hands are calloused.  His face is leathered. His steadfastness is sure.

We have been through storms unheard of and unable to be survived by most.  Yet, we’ve come through.  My farmer and I. And Christ. Our Rock.
No hoopla. No church. No title. No nonsense.
Just simply plowing.  faithfulness. In word and in deed.
….A ‘farmer’ all my own.

Matthew 7:24-27
24“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

How about you?  In the midst of ‘life’ and all its losses and gains, what can you stop and give thanks for?  Have you been measuring your loved one according to a standard set by others?  Have they fallen short as compared to someone else and their idea of ‘success’ in life or ministry?

Today, let Christ the Rock and His word be the plumbline which measures out Grace and begin to see the ‘labor of  your farmer’ through eyes of love.

2 thoughts on “A farmer of my own…Eucharisteo

Leave a Reply

