Leaving the Nightlight On…finding courage in the dark.

“Granma, you forgot something!” My granddaughter looked at me from under her bedcovers as I was about to close the door of her room after tucking her in bed. 

“What did I forget?”
We said our prayers.  I kissed her.  I hugged her.  I tucked Chloe (her favorite stuffed Alaskan puppy) under her arm.  What coud I have forgotten?
“The light grandma”, she said in her ‘helloooo” tone of voice.
“You forgot to turn my nightlight on!” 

Remember needing a nightlight as a child?
After 30+years of marriage, I still like to have a ‘light’ on somewhere in the house when my husband isn’t home at night.

What is it about ‘light’ that helps us feel safe and connected? 

How about you? Have you ever gone through a ‘night season’ in your life where it felt like God forgot to leave the ‘nightlight’ on?  Your hopes, goals, seemed to just kind of ‘shut off’?  Disconnected from your dreams, disconnected from your aspirations, disconnected even from who you thought you were…those ‘bonds’ are the most powerful weapon the ‘dark’ has for keeping you prisoner, chained to fear.

Fear then gives way to shame. Shame shuts your mouth.  Doesn’t let you speak about it, til it seems there can be no way out.
And that depressed state gives way to hopelessness and despair.

In counseling and ministering to so many women and young girls caught up in abusive relationships and having suffered trauma in  life (physical, sexual, emotional abuse, incest, rape, depression, mental illness), the biggest stronghold and stumbling block to  healing is ‘fear and shame’.  Fear of what the abuser will do (has done), and Shame for not being strong or courageous enough to stop it or walk away.

beautyofbutterfly

But something happens when we finally find a ‘safe place’ where we can openly speak up and share the truth of what is going on in our lives, the fears, the failures, the hurts, the wounds, the abuse…without being judged, but just being loved and believed. 

There’s a “LIGHT” that comes on in the heart.  The Light of the Gospel comes in and LOVE and HOPE dispels the darkness.

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the Light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”~ John 8:12

“Rejoice not against me O my enemy! When I fall, I shall arise; when I sit in darkness,the Lord shall be a light to me.” – Micah 7:8

I have been blessed to have that light go on in my own heart and privileged to see that “light” go on in the heart, mind and spirit of hundreds of women in the midst of their ‘darkness’. I have witnessed the shame and fear break off as they began to see themselves for who GOD created them to be and ‘BELIEVE’ that God truly does love them and that, surely, they can do all things through Christ who strengthens them.

Cour·age: the quality of mind or spirit that enables a person to face difficulty, danger, pain, etc., without fear; bravery.

  • Courage (through Christ) gives us the strength to walk away from relationships and circumstances
    that are not healthy for us.
  • Courage [through Christ] gives us the desire to speak Truth no matter what.
  • Courage (through Christ) give us the strength to leave the light on, despite the pain.

“Strong is what I became when I finally got the courage
to break free from fear and be healed.” ~ ms, Fierce Woman Found Ministries

The Light of the love of Christ dispels the darkness and breathes courage into the fearful heart.

Can I pray for you right now?
Heavenly Father, you know us so much better and deeper than we could ever know ourselves.  You know our weaknesses, our failures, our sins and our fears.  And yet, despite it all…You STILL love us.  I ask that your precious Holy Spirit sheds the light of Truth into the mind, heart and spirit of the one reading right now.  We thank you that you sing over us with songs of deliverance and that you call us your ‘Beloved’.  We give our fears and our anxiety, our despair and our heaviness and we receive your Love, Mercy, Grace and Your garment of Praise.  We thank you for a Strong and Courageous and a Fearless heart that puts its Trust in You.

In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

If this has helped or blessed you in any way, would you share in the comments below?

Do you have a story to share? I’d love to hear from you too!

6 thoughts on “Leaving the Nightlight On…finding courage in the dark.

  1. “How about you? Have you ever gone through a ‘night season’ in your life where it felt like God forgot to leave the ‘nightlight’ on?”
    Love that Michelle! I think it speaks so much to what truly goes on in our hearts. It seems during those dark seasons that we just need Him to reach out and let us know he is still there and has not left us. Thank you for that beautiful picture and giving women courage to seek out the light they need in their lives to overcome their pain and fear. Blessings to you! ~Victoria

    1. Amen. Thank you for the words of encouragement. We grow even stronger and our light grows even brighter as we dare to walk together in transparency and love. #leavingourlighton #fearlessly 🙂

  2. As always my friend, you astound me! Right on point for those of us who have been on dark journeys, periods of time that no light could shine until “His” light broke through. Love you and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

